Refund policy change

Hello everyone,

We wanted to let you know that we have revised the refund policy of PPH. The reason is that there have been cases where the refund functionality is abused so we changed the refund policy to make it more fair for both Sellers and Buyers.

What changed is that when Sellers are not at fault for the refund according to the T&Cs (delivery deadline was not met, no response from Seller etc) then Buyers can still ask for a refund but they receive the funds requested minus a refund fee equal to 10% of the requested amount. So this refund fee is charged when cancelling a booked project without the Seller being responsible for the cancellation.

If Seller is at fault for the refund the functionality stays the same: Buyer receives 100% of the requested amount without any deduction and Seller gets an automated 1-star review from the system (refund fee is not charged to either party).

We really hope that this change will reduce conflicts between Sellers and Buyers and therefore reduce refund requests and make it more fair for everyone: Sellers get more protected and there no cases where a Buyer abuses the system.

You can find more info in the Buyer fees section of the updated Terms and Conditions here

Best regards,
Christos
Product Manager @PPH

Avatar
Dimitris Koufakis
PeoplePerHour
Stay inspired. Keep growing.
Get insights and tips sent straight to your inbox.
Got something to say?
Share your story and become a guest author on the PeoplePerHour blog.
Share your story

Comments

avatar

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of
Hassan
Hassan

Still no incentive for seller if there is no fault of seller.

Vignesh
Vignesh

The issue really is, we deliver an hourlie and then the client wants changes which were not originally asked for, then they drag the dates out of the delivery range and then request a refund, when do we call it “delivered” is not yet clear and then it is not yet clear who will get the 10% charge levied on the buyer, is it going to be retained by PPH, is it not a fairly earned money of the seller?

Christos
Christos

@Vignesh please make sure that you raise an invoice within the deadline and get paid for the work that corresponds to the Hourlie’s scope without the extra requests of the Buyer. When that happens you can send a Proposal for the extra requests.

best,
Christos
Product Manager @PPH

Vignesh
Vignesh

Dear Christos Thank you for the response, but sellers cannot push for such a payment, and everyone here knows that, if we push too much for payment (which is not my worry at all when I get a client who will ever raise a refund request) then they can pay and leave a negative feedback, five years of hard work then goes down the drain. Combine this with the job being a hourlie, it becomes a nightmare in a few seconds. The automatic 1* rating has to go, if the client is unhappy allow them to provide a 1* why… Read more »

Jainam
Jainam

So what happens when seller buys the hourlie and then doesn’t communicate?

Sneha
Sneha

Despite of having all 5 star rating on all of my projects, and not a single bad experience, I completely agree what Vignesh is saying!

Christos, we understand there are rules but at certain situations, rules are very easy to abuse.
Automated one star rating is bullish actually!

Day by day, policy by policy updates in recent time, I am almost convinced that PPH is a place for part time / short term freelancers and not for hardworking and honest sellers.

John Crowder
John Crowder

This seems clear as mud.

If as a buyer I purchase an hourlie and then get no response from the seller it will cost me 10% to get a refund?

Also if an hourlie is purchased in error before any work is started can we have a no fault refund, I’m always happy to refund on this basis, but I have to alert customer service each time and occasionally wil recieve a 1 star immediately that will be eventuall recinded but affects me in the short term.

Aditya
Aditya

So if the buyer purchases an hourlie for a specific task and the seller notifies the buyer that this is not something he can do, and initiates a refund, he will automatically get 1-star review even if it was a mutual refund between the buyer and seller? This will negatively affect the profiles of good freelancers out there. I think the old system was better.

Christos
Christos

thank you all for your comments just to highlight that if it is seller at fault e.g. no response, the fee is not charged. The way we evaluate faults does not change , e.g. if the buyer expected something else than what is described in the hourlie , the seller is not at fault and does not get a 1-star rating.

Christos
Product Manager @PPH

Shweta Singh
Shweta Singh

Every day you are coming out with a new policy, but it seems like you are working hard for buyers benefit only. Most of the time we get to do more work than agreed or asked, if we refuse to do that, buyer will give 3* or 4*reviews, what we should do in that case. If you have an automated system to 1* review then i think you should have an automated system for those unnecessary bad reviews as well. Recently I saw a post on FB saying Pay Peanuts and Get Monkeys to Work. Seriously now days I think… Read more »

Liam
Liam

Thats a great move in the right direction, there is many a times out of fear of having a bitter buyer give me a bad review ive had to close it empty handed. Hopefully this will change that 🙂

Paul
Paul

I’ve just had a client purchase a 500 word article THEN demanded that I also: – Find images for the article – Find SEO keywords – Find SEO meta descriptions Expects it to be a part of the deal. Because all of the power is in the hands of the buyer, if I don’t deliver these things I can get a low rating for my work or have him abuse the refund system. It really feels difficult being a seller, paying $15 to get an hourly featured (sits there 1-3 days before sliding away to page 10), then 15% on… Read more »

Aditya
Aditya

Well that clears the hourlie part. What about custom jobs? If for any reason the seller & buyer reach on a decision for mutual cancellation of the job, will the seller automatically still get a 1-star negative rating even if the buyer has agreed on a cancellation on good terms?

Christos
Christos

thank you all for this kind of conversation here this really helps us become better. Just wanted to remind you that in case a Buyer asks for additional deliverables with no extra charge you few options to handle the situation with the buyer without getting a bad review. E.g. You can raise a Proposal for the additional requests explaining the scope of work and if the Buyer does not accept then you don’t have to do anything else for them. If the Buyer requests a refund just accept it and if you are not at fault for some reason then… Read more »

Faryad
Faryad

The best sentence I’ve heard from these conversations:

“Also we will soon not allow feedback given after 15 days from invoice payment.”

Thanks

Issam Zoli
Issam Zoli

This is good news but not fair though, 10% is very low. I once finished a project for a client who never got back to me. I tried everything to contact him but he just abandoned the project. PPH refunded the £250 that was in escrow, so I end up wasting a lot of time and effort for nothing.

mohamed
mohamed

Hello all I think the main problem was the refund affect on the seller rating and the asking of new requirements with no more money which make both seller and pph itself loose a money so my guess is to solve both problems is if a client asked for more work without paying more money, then the seller should have the ability to dispute him without affecting his rating as the heart of the problem I think, is that if he make the dispute the seller loose both money and rating as pph admin here who check the workstream I… Read more »

Andrius
Andrius

Can you make one more change? If somebody gives one star to seller and seller writes his/her comment below that star for example “What was wrong with my task? You were very happy with the result this 1 star just an error. Can you confirm buyer?” Can you make response button to confirm that it’s not a mistake, that the seller made BIG BUL**IT and charged money for it. And when they get one star they “don’t understand why”? Response button after comments is required. Or … seller can’t comment after it gets one star.

David R
David R

So, when the buyer sees the goods and decides to demand a refund because, for some reason, he wanted something else, what do we get in compensation for the work we’ve already put in to the project?
Remember that the buyer will already have a copy of our work that he can use..so by the time he demands a refund he ends up with the work AND the cash, doesn’t he?

David R
David R

Christos…
“If the Buyer requests a refund just accept it and if you are not at fault for some reason then you won’t get a bad review and the Buyer will be charged a refund fee without getting any of the work done!”

Unless I am missing something here, the only work the buyer doesn’t get is the stuff he demanded for free in *addition* to the agreed contract. So, in effect, by demanding a refund the buyer gets all the original work at ten percent of the agreed fee and we get nothing?

Skyrays
Skyrays

Hi,

I have an issue with the system.
I have an hourly and the time to deliver the work is 3 days. Now some times there is more work that can not be covered in a single hourly so I suggest my client to buy 3 or 4 hourlies. So now delivery time should be 9 or 12 days. But System still shows 3 days. It should be corrected.

Ishan
Ishan

Can anybody Answer me that If a buyer press Refund by mistake, can it be UNDO ??? & if it can be possible, Please let me know How it can be done ???

Waqar
Waqar

Why all the favor goes to buyers? What will happen to the sellers? This is really bad, if we seller pay more taxes we should expect more and the system should give us protection as well, Off-course if the seller has no fault, he should never get a bad review. And just for your information, most of the time there is no issue with deadline or the work deliver, most of reseller or so called brokers here do force the seller to provide more work, so the seller has to deliver beyond the scope of the project just because of… Read more »

Fehinq
Fehinq

Hi there,

I caught in a quandary at the moment, i have hired a member to complete a project accepted their bid, paid the deposit…

There was some contact and progress at the start of the project, but nothing for the last 10 days.

I have contacted them via PPH, their direct email contact, Twitter and Facebook and have had no response from any.

At this point i’m starting to believe that my deposit is gone, but worse my deadline will be missed and my work will remain incomplete. Having the devastating to my workflow and reputation.

Any advice

amber
amber

Does PPH get that 10% or I do?

Christos
Christos

just wanted to let you know that the policy of the Seller getting paid for the work already done even if Buyer wants to cancel still stands. So please raise invoices for all work you have done so that the Buyer pays. If buyer requests a refund for the whole amount / rejects your invoice then please raise a dispute and our team will make sure you get paid. Please have escrow funds always in the WorkStream so that we can do this.

Best,
Christos
Product Manager @PPH

jim
jim

Lets be fair. The vast majority of buyers and sellers are honest hard working folk. However there are buyers who want everything for nothing, and there are sellers who bid for work that is beyond their capability. Its a fact of life that in the services industry, its the service provider that has to shoulder the risk. They have to do this to stay competitive, as no buyer will pay for something they are unhappy with (and why should they). Quality, timely work, ensures a better chance of payment. Yes, there will always be the occasional buyer who just cannot… Read more »

Ash
Ash

Sounds like the the most weird policy PPH ever think of!

I often get some clients who accidentally press several time to order an hourlie & I had to refund extra amount. From now on either buyer will be charged for their mistakes or I’ll get a 1 star! very thoughtful!
There are various other cases. we often need mutual cancellation & that’s very obvious in marketplaces. nobody expect to be penalized for that! 95% of work I’ve done here, never had any deadline! I’ve no idea what other factor they will count on me to give a 1 star!

honey
honey

@ Jim

Eloquently put!

dhirendra kunwar
dhirendra kunwar

I think, with these policy changes, you are only kicking out both seller and buyers out of this platform.

Shumaila
Shumaila

Each day you bring weird policies, you make sure to convince us it is in our favor where as its actually ur new tactic to earn more… I will suggest pph to introduce a new policy of taking half of our money when we do a job. Or if the buyer deposit money in escrow it directly goes to pph account :/ You are not introducing Mutual Cancellation??? Whats this useless ,some dumb, greedy mind’s created policy… Many times we give refund, the fault is neither of us nor of client. Why cant we mutually cancel a project,hourlie. You are… Read more »

amber
amber

You didn’t really answer my question. Does PPH get that 10% or I do?

Chris
Chris

What Ive learnt from my years on PPH and the mutiple changes is that PPH WON’T listen to any of us and will make changes regardless so everyone complaining is wasting their time! Even though I already know this won’t happen, as mentioned above, I’am actually going to waste my time and say the auto 1* needs to be scrapped all that should happen in the case of a refund is both parties lose their right to leave feedback and the buyer gets a 100% refund! Its that simple! And lastly we should be allowed to state more than 5… Read more »

Howard
Howard

“Also we will soon not allow feedback given after 15 days from invoice payment.” That is a good thing, IMO it should be faster. The problem client that I have now is continuing to demand things on a second hourlie that he bought. He hasn’t given me feedback on the first hourly, I feel he is holding that over my head while he tries to get free add-ons. Savvy buyers are learning how to abuse the system and trying to hold on to my 100% rating is becoming very stressful. He bought a couple of articles and has demanded I… Read more »

Rahul Parashar
Rahul Parashar

Finally one step taken for seller protection which was not there at all since PPH inception. A little sign of relief but long way to go to protect their top and hard working sellers from one time / cheap buyers who are just opportunist and here to exploit and take most of PPH 100% money back that PPH promote to get those buyers. Few further improvements which we would love too see 1. Just not penalise Sellers always for dispute or refund. 2. How do you protect sellers if a buyer paid the invoice and leave a negative feedback just… Read more »

Alisha
Alisha

In Simple words, “revert back to the old system”

– I’m sorry, but i’m cancelling all my Jobs here on PPH and will be quitting this website, until they don’t revert back to the old system, This new automated system is quit annoying. If not Increase the delivery time frame to 15-30 days. Not all jobs can be completed within 5 days.

– Instead of releasing features that will excite members here. But No! PPH is only releasing stupid features like Unwanted policy after policy and it’s getting worse day by day.

– Paying ya’ll fees to get penalized?

Michael
Michael

@Christos Im sorry to hear about the auto 1 star for a refund. Refunds are part of business (any ecommerce business) and while I’m sure you are trying to create an incentive not to refund, you don’t need to, loss of the earnings is enough of an incentive not to refund.

Sometimes the only way to get rid of a toxic buyer is to refund them and give them the work.

If you have to impose this rule, you should allow a leeway of a certain amount of refunds first.

abdulmoiz
abdulmoiz

I feel that PPH favours the buyers more than the sellers when it comes to disputes and policies simply because buyer brings in the money.

It is still my fav freelance site though, but as many have already mentioned,, PPH is more suited to part-time freelancer and i agree with that.

Anna
Anna

Let’s not forget that the owner of this company thinks workers are lazy….how dare they expect a regular wage and pension!!

Sini H.
Sini H.

Fair enough BUT I was just in a situation where a well-meaning Buyer completely by mistake placed in Escrow twice the money needed for project payment. So, her only choice was to ask for a Refund, for which I naturally wanted and had to reply positively, as otherwise there was absolutely no problem; the Buyer was super friendly, job was finished on time and well. I think it would be really unfair to get a 1-star Feedback on such a situation, don’t you, Stelios dear? Please make some allowances for that kind of isolated incidents as well! Thanks in advance,… Read more »

Graham
Graham

Here’s the issue … I and the seller have been happily working together without issue. Now comes along PPH and refunds my fund without my permission and steals $125 of my money in the process.

What PPH should do is to ask both seller and buyer if everything is ok … what business is it of PPH to dictate when a contract should end?

The work the sellers are undertaking for me is complex and so will take considerably more than 30 days.

I’ve made an official complaint and if my money isn’t refunded they’ll be talking to my lawyers.

Mohammed Rashid
Mohammed Rashid

Hello !
I just had the same thing, I was working with a web developer Harshvardhan and the project is still on going, all well and fine, but I got an e-mail saying your £1000 as been refunded and they have taken £100 ???

I am still working with this person and the job is still continuing so why was I given a refund when neither them nor I requested one and then to take 10% ???

Christos
Christos

Hi everyone

if the project is not cancelled and is still in progress please send an email to support@peopleperhour.com so that they can verify and add the funds back to your wallet.

thank you
Christos
Product Manager @PPH

sandeep salwann
sandeep salwann

Fiverr is still better because they dont give you Low Star if the job get mutually cancelled.but here on peopleperhour i dont like 1 star rating after cancellation.

Muhammad Salman Mazhar
Muhammad Salman Mazhar

I am a beginner at pph my earned money is still in escrow in a project and it’s more than a week now. can anyone help me here….???

website design
website design

There are some common skills that a graphic designers as well as a
web designer must possess-. All of these social media sites
wouldn’t be able to run properly without proper web design. Traditionally, robust internet marketing firms have relied on far more sources than Google Analytics to get
data.

Gaurav Aggarwal
Gaurav Aggarwal

Hi . I have successfully completed the project and client paid the 2 invoice and both were rejected by PPH because client has not submitted their verification document. PPH and me has sent few remainders to him as well but he has not uploaded their dociments yet, Project is of $480. Client has paid the invoice of $144 and $236 and $324 are still in escrow. I am trying hard to get my payment but still did not get any money yet. Kindly suggest me what needs to do. Should I go for dispute.? I am too much concerned about… Read more »

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Gaurav,

Many thanks for your message.

I’m sorry to read that. Please email us at support@peopleperhour.com and someone will email you back about this.

Thank you.

Athia
Athia

I have been stolen from already twice by this 10% fee.
The seller failed to deliver/has not delivered according to advertised
My refund was minus 10% of the total
This is plain thievery

In the TOS it says that the 10% will only be levied if the seller is not at fault but the 10% gets taken standard without any review from pph or if it does PPH is actively stealing money

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Athia,

I’m sorry about that. Please email us at support@peopleperhour.com for assistance.

Mark Williamson
Mark Williamson

I had to cancel because the seller went into hospital and I couldn’t wait for him to compete the job. I have requested a refund but not received it. Appears no way to speak to anybody at PeopleperHour to find out where and when my refund will be processed. Not happy thinking this is a fraudulent site!

And now the site is telling me I have pay fee for requesting a refund. Will be contacting credit card to alert them to the fraud.

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Mark,

I’m sorry you are experiencing difficulties. Please email us at support@peopleperhour.com from your email address associated with your PPH account for assistance and I promise you will speak to a real person this way! ?

Chour Vuthy
Chour Vuthy

I requested for Refund since the seller has not submitted work although it passed the deadline for 4 days. It’s been 2 days already that it is still a request for Refund, what if the seller does not approve the refund?

When will PPH approve the refund if the seller does not agree to refund?

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Chour,

Many thanks for your message. The refund will be made automatically after a couple of days, unless the seller disputes your refund request. In that instance, PPH would review all the evidence and make an informed decision on what to do next. Hope this helps. Happy Easter!

Gaurav Kumar
Gaurav Kumar

What if i cancel the order. Will they refund amount directly on my bank account?

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Gaurav,

Many thanks for your message. The amount would be refunded directly to your PPH Wallet, where you can then withdraw to your bank account. I hope this helps! Happy Easter 🙂

Christina Garcia-Smith
Christina Garcia-Smith

As a buyer, I’ve had a two bad experiences on PPH. The first designer decided after a month that it was something he couldn’t do and offered a refund. The second one sent me work that was so amateurish, I sat with my mouth open. I really could have used a logo generator and done better. After all this headache and waste of time, I’m come to the conclusion that some (not all) of the ‘designers’ who claim to have design companies are actually lying and have no experience of design at all. These guys did have a number of… Read more »

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Christina,

Many thanks for your message. I’m so sorry to read you feel this way. Please email us at support@peopleperhour.com for assistance with this. Best wishes!

Bryan Jake de Mata
Bryan Jake de Mata

Hiya.

Please assist me how to amend the rate on my proposal.

Thanks,

Bryan

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Bryan,

Many thanks for your question, I hope you are well? You will need to cancel your proposal and send a new one if you wish to amend the rate. Thanks!

adeel
adeel

i am new on pph. i have a question that i am giving a service which is not possible to complete in 5 days. but i just saw maximum delivery time. 5 days. what i do?

Kelly
Kelly

Hi Adeel! Welcome to PPH! It’s good to have you here! You can still apply for jobs on our jobs board – these projects are not restricted to a maximum of 5 days delivery. I wish you well with your business in PPH!

Nimi
Nimi

Hi,
Informative article for both sellers and buyers. Thanks for sharing. Looking for more such articles.

Find an expert for anything

Work with curated freelance talent from all over the world.
Manage the entire project within PeoplePerHour.
Pay securely with confidence.
No upfront payments, no hidden fees.